New England Intercollegiate Golf Association - NEIGA


Become a Member

Bentley's Malcolm Oliver Repeats As NEIGA Champion with a two-day total of 142.  Bryant University wins the Overall Team Crown

Teams from 37 colleges and universities across New England and New York gathered at The Captains Course in Brewster, MA, on Sunday and Monday, October 25-26, 2015 for the 81st Annual New England Intercollegiate Golf Championship.  One hundred and eighty-four golfers from Divisions I, II, III and Club teams competed. The NEIGA was pleased to have Cleveland Golf / Srixon return as the ‘Presenting Sponsor”.


The New England Intercollegiate Golf Association (NEIGA) has been in existence since 1934 and includes member colleges and universities in New England and New York and is considered to be the oldest and largest college golf tournament.  It is unique in that Divisions I, II, III and Club teams compete together at the same venue.


Division I Bryant University, under the leadership of Head Coach Charlie Blanchard, shot a two-day total of 608 to win the overall championship. They held a two-shot lead going into today’s final round and ended up winning by eight strokes over runner-up Central Connecticut State. Individual medalist honors went to Fairfield University’s Kevin Duncan, who posted a two-day total of 146 to win by three shots


Southern New Hampshire University, led by Head Coach Matt Arvanitis, won the Division II title with a score of 609, besting second place Bentley University by four shots. Oliver, who shot 75 on Day 1 and trailed the overall leader by five strokes, shot a 5-under par 67 on the Port Course in the final round to become the first NEIGA repeat champion since former PGA Tour and Bryant University alum Jim Hallet won five consecutive times from 1981-83. The NEIGA was held in both the Fall and Spring during that time.


Rhode Island College, guided by Head Coach Greg Gammell, went back-to-back as Division III champs with a two-day total of 618, six strokes better than runners-up Salem State and Babson. The Anchormen made up a two-shot deficit thanks in part to DIII medalist Jonathan Cooper was finished with a two-day total of 147 to win by a stroke.


Cleveland Golf/Srixon sponsored the long drive and closest to the pin competitions giving new Srixon Z F45 3-woods and Z H45 hybrids to the winners. Winners of the long drive competitions were Travis Landry of Franklin Pierce University and Jackson Mitchell of UMass Dartmouth.  Winners of the closest to the pin competitions were Taylor Simpson of Franklin Pierce University and Remy Fletcher from Nichols College. Each division medalist also received a Srixon Z 745 or 545 driver.


The Co-2015 Guy Tedesco Award recipients were Oliver and Southern New Hampshire’s Jake Nutter. This award is given annually to the Outstanding New England College Golfer who displayed the qualities Guy Tedesco was noted for: unselfish leadership, outstanding talent, love of golf and willingness to promote positive aspects of golf to others. The Gordon McCullough Award given to the “Coaches Honoree” was presented to Coach Lou Parente of Johnson & Wales University. Sun Mountain College Rep Bob Riedel was the recipient of the George A. Jacobson Special Recognition Award.



For more information, please contact Executive Director Mike Serijan at

NEIGA, 5 John Joseph Road, Harwich, MA 02645

Cell Phone 508-847-8700  Email: